About Us

When Pragjyotish College was established on 1st September 1954, seven years after Independence, it became a beacon light of learning and a symbol of aspirations for the common people of Assam, raring to build a new nation. Pandit Tirthanath Sarma, eminent scholar and litterateur, responded to and actively participated in the nation building by taking charge as the founder principal of Pragjyotish College.

From its modest inception as an arts college, Pragjyotish College has now developed into one of the premier institutions of higher education in Guwahati. At present, it is a well-known full-fledged degree college, imparting higher education in Arts, Science and Commerce streams. The College also has two post-graduate departments, viz. Assamese and Tourism Management. It is affiliated to Gauhati University and registered under 2(F) and 12 (B) of the University Grants Commission Act, 1956. The College has the distinction of being assessed and accredited twice by the NAAC in 2003 and 2010 respectively and was placed in “Grade B in a Four-point scale”, valid up to 2016.

In the Emblem of the College, is ingrained the motto ‘Tejasvinavadhitamastu’ (Let our studies be vigorous) and a conch shell at the centre on a eight-petalled full-blown beautiful lotus, which symbolizes pure knowledge and the relationship between the teacher and the learner, praying to Almighty God for energy, protection, maintenance that ultimately leads to peace and bliss.

In its glorious existence of almost sixty years, Pragjyotish College, as alma mater, has produced a galaxy of eminent persons in all walks of life.

The Governing Body of Pragjyotish College constitutes of :

1. Mrs. Aditi Chowdhury President
2. Dr. Manoj Kumar MahantaPrincipal & Secretary
3. Mr. Ramendra Narayan KalitaMLA, West Guwahati Constituency
4. Prof. Barindra Kr. SarmaGauhati University Nominee
5. Prof. Anup Kr. TalukdarGauhati University Nominee
6. Rajita KalitaDonor Member
7. Dhirendra KalitaGuardian Member
8. Bijya KalitaGuardian Member
9. Ganesh Ch. Nath Guardian Member
10. Priyanka SarmahTeachers Representative
11. Dr. Reena Barman KalitaTeachers Representative
12. Rabindra ThakuriaRepresentative, Non-Teaching Staff